Make 2017 Great Again

We are only 12 1/2 hours from a new year. I think I can confidently say the majority of people I know are looking forward to this annus horribilis of worldly events to being behind us. The only think saving this year for me are the Cubs winning the World Series and marrying Jimbo. And to be fair, those are two substantially positive things. They almost tipped the year into the positive, but came up a tad bit short. Despite it all, I am happy and healthy at this years end, which bodes well for 2017.

I have come up with a shortlist of resolutions for 2017, which should be achievable. My 2016 goals kind of floundered (mostly the writing one), which doesn’t please me. I think I ended up writing 45 out of the 100 times I was supposed to. I probably failed the other ones if I could remember what they were (likely fitness related). In my brain it felt as though there was not any extra capacity to do such leisurely things. The whole year has been a test of trying to get through everyday, accomplishing everything that needed be done before the next day arrived. The last week and a half have felt pretty decadent with the amount of lounging around the house we have done. And now we have another couple days of it. I would like to title 2017 the Year of Leisurely Pursuit aka Recover from 2016. Ok here are my resolutions:

  1. Read 30 books – I made it through 21 this year, a far cry from the 40-50 I used to get through, but with work and a demanding husband it won’t be possible to read more than 30.
  2. Visit one new pub in London every month – Easily achievable. Hopefully this will get us out on the town either after work or on the weekends.
  3. Go to Culture once a month – We don’t go out and experience the cultural side of London very much at all (it’s primarily pubs). I don’t want to leave London and a have a long list of things I wish I would have done. Every time we go out and do something vaguely cultural (i.e. Catnip Festival) we seem to enjoy our time or at least have a lot to discuss or think about afterwards.
  4. Workout at least once a week – This isn’t very ambitious, but some weeks I easily fail this mission. So we will set the bar low and hope to get two to three workouts in a week in reality.
  5. I can’t think of anything else at this time.

I want to have a writing goal, but maybe if I don’t set one I won’t feel as pressured to do it and may be more inclined to do it.

I have some photos for you of what I’ve been up to (honeymooning). I lost my fucking camera before the wedding and lost a couple months of photos. I’m totally not upset by it. So everything I have is post marriage.

dsc00608

Coco de mer palms are badass

dsc00610

They also have a great phallic pollen catkin type things. And I want to touch them.

dsc00742

I spent a lot of time with a drink in my hand staring into the ocean on honeymoon.

dsc00945

What we’ve been doing since October.

Let’s hope for a prosperous 2017 for humanity and the environment. If not, carpe diem until the icebergs melt.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

