Bank holiday

I do like a bank holiday. And even more than that, I like having them off from work, paid. Not too many years ago I’d work them because my boss told me. And there was no extra pay. And now that I think about it, no paid time off ever. Or health insurance.  Or retirement pay. Or really any benefit to me besides paying me for the 50 hours a week I worked.

My current job seems extremely civilized in these respects. So I think I’ll stay around. Cause having a Monday off, it allows me to do stuff like this at 9:30 in the morning:

It's an America sunglass kind of day.

It’s an America sunglass dancing kind of day.

And there’s little doubt that such shenanigans will continue for the rest of the day. And I’m not even drinking. That’s the scary bit. I’ve been sober now for 10 days. I feel like I’ve been sober 10 days too. My body is starting to feel normal. And I’ve probably lost a pound of weight owing to the lack of carbs I’ve not imbibed from beer over the last week and a half.

I’ve had a good weekend so far. With it chucking down with rain on Saturday, I stayed inside and watched football with intermittent spurts of Gavin and Stacey. Yesterday though I pulled myself out of my house to check out Epping Forest. It’s really really worth a visit and I highly recommend it. I literally walked aimlessly for about 5 hours and loved every bit of it. It was nice not having a clue where I was and to be out in a proper forest once again. I just don’t get into forest anymore, which hurts my brain and soul more than you’d think.

Epping

Epping

My only complaint is that I couldn’t get too far away from the rest of humanity. I was constantly surrounded by the sounds of cars whizzing by on nearby roads and a thousand billion planes flying over head. I miss that kind of deafening kind of quiet you get out in the middle of Central Oregon, hiking in the Ochocos. Or the sound of waves crashing on the beach in the Redwoods.

My mind has been wandering to the wild parts of the American West a lot recently. If I could, I’d take a week off work and go for an adventure in Oregon and California right this moment. With all the necessary trimmings of course: tent, sleeping bag, a few 6ers of local beer, a cooler full of food, firewood in the trunk, plenty of sunflower seeds and some really good company. Something similar to this scene:

Yeah, that'll do.

Yeah, that’ll do.

It’s the thing I miss most doing in the US by a country mile. Not that I even went camping all that much to be honest. Only a couple times a year. But it was enough. Now I feel a bit lost without it.

Any ways, I have to keep thinking about how much I love London and that I really, truly am happy and grateful for the opportunity to be here.  That sacrificing those experiences is worth being here. It is. Right? Yeah, I think it is. I hope it is.

With a bit of luck, I’ll be back doing those things before I know it….

Any ways, my friends, I’m going to sit in the garden and do some more dancing and perhaps a bit of reading now. I’ve got 70 pages left of 20,000 leagues under the sea. It’d be nice to finish Mr. Verne’s book before starting Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. HP has interrupted me finishing 20,000 Leagues for the last 2 months. If you’re off today, enjoy the day. If you’re off next Monday, hope you’re doing something neat. And if you’re not off at all, sorry about your luck.  Bye kids.

 

Categories: Rando, travel, Walking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

