Getting ahead

It’s just gone 9 AM on a snowy morning here in south London. I managed to sleep in till 8:26. For me, that’s a pretty good lie-in. I woke up and looked out the window to find more snow falling on top of the 2-3 inches we already have on the ground. This snowfall over the last couple day is my first proper snow of London. It has snowed this winter and last but it didn’t stick for this long. This snow has cause H-A-V-O-C on flights, trains and road. And the Met Office says there is more all day today. Fine with me as long as the major roads are clear tomorrow for me to cycle to work. I’ll take an alternative route than I normally do, as Tooting Bec Common was rather treacherous on Friday night as you can see by the picture.

Snowy cycle home.

Snowy cycle home.

There has not been much on the docket this weekend outside of some interneting, reading, keeping warm in my house. I’d do more but the stress of getting out there is not worth it. Plus I’ve got a bit of a bum knee which I’d like to rest. My other thing I’ve got to do this weekend is try to make myself more marketable for a long term employment. I’m going to bite the bullet and do a couple of qualificationy type things I’ve been dragging my feet on the last couple years. It’s alright to get temp work here, but to get anyone to keep you on long term seems to be difficult. So perhaps I need a few more letters after my name? A bit more British based education? I’m not sure what’s lacking. Or perhaps it’s just me and my awkwardness that wards potential employers off. That is also to be addressed in 2013. Either way, I’m going to do my best to improve and be prepared for the next permanent job I go for.

This January has been rather routine and uneventful. I’m going to blame the lack of alcohol in my diet. It’s left things feeling rather unpredictable. In some ways that’s good and some ways bad, but mostly good. It’s been a tough test to not drink at points. I walked into the Ferrer’s on Wednesday night to find the best line up of alcoholic beverages I’ve ever seen there in my life. Lots of By the Horns, Brodies, Thatchers and Cronx, which I have been dying to try. I ordered a peppermint tea. I was so fucking thrilled to do so. It’s the closest I’ve come to cracking, but I would have been sorely disappointed with myself. I only have 11 more days of being on the wagon, so I hope some of those brews are still available in February.

It’s been good to not drink as I have spent limited funds this month. A night out can ruin my budget for the week very easily. And I need to save all the pennies I can with a possible trip to the Best Coast in April/May happening. The trip has hit a bit of a speed bump this week as my employment prospects over that period has become rather tenuous. I’d very much like to go back stateside and see my lovelies, but it appears life over here is against me doing that. I will continue to fight my way through the slog and get back stateside ASAP. And if I don’t go stateside, I’m going to the mother flipping continent to go see some new city I haven’t yet seen for a few days. Most likely it will be Amsterdam to ride bikes. Anyone want to come join me?  Please please?

On that note, I need someone to confirm plans to come visit me soon. It’s been too long. My 2 hours with Tera hardly

The snow keeps falling.

The snow keeps falling.

counts towards anything. No substantial visit has occurred since September. Get it together folks. Especially relatives. Your lack of visitation is simply appalling.

Any ways, I’m out. I’ve got some more NY Times to read, more tea to drink and my traditional sunday brekkie to make.  I hope you’re all well. Keep in touch my friends. Much love.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

