End of the summer

Remember your sunblock this summer

Wow, what a summer it’s been here in the UK. Beautiful and sunny and warm.  As you can see by this picture. And to think: we’ve a least 2 more weeks of this! Lucky us in Britain.  But no, it’s really been alright. It’s nice to garden in 60-70 degrees and slightly overcast. I smell much better after work than I did a few summers ago.

I’ve been a little quiet on here. Work has been hectic. My weekends have been busy with

Totes loving life. Obvi.

visitors, sports, trips and out with my cohorts. Basically, out living life with little desire to sit in front of my computer typing away nonsense. I have had such a great time recently though. I’m owing the improvement in life to giving up facebook and giving up trying to convince someone to live a life they don’t want to lead. No more am I living partially in the US and partially in the UK, at least mentally. And what a difference it has made in quality in life. It only took 2 years to get settled here, but it’s been worth living for this moment.

Pretty nice at Tower Bridge

So yes, I’ve seen the end of the Olympics. Amazing times. I think my favorite was attending Men’s Volleyball at Earl’s Court. The crowd was really into it and it was packed with many Russian and Brazilian fans. But the whole experience of being in the host city was unforgettable in itself. The whole city just had a different, more positive vibe to it. And for a long time I will be fearing the voice of Boris Johnson coming over the loud speaker at London Bridge telling me “This is the big one” once again.

 

I’m going to try and play some more tennis now that the Olympics are coming to an end (paralympics still happening).  I played doubles for about 30 minutes tonight and my partner and I battled back from 1-3 to 5-3 before we called it quits on the grass courts due to lack of light. My serving was looking good.  A bit low on mph’s but good. I hope to play more regularly now and improve my game to where I would like to be.

Besides that I’m off to Spain in a couple weeks for a little holiday. I have my hostels booked but not a lot planned for where I’m visiting. The only thing I have booked in is a two part visit to Alhambra, during the day and then again at night. I’ve been wanting to visit there for many many years, so I plan on making the most of it. Really, I just want to relax and see where the days take me. Hopefully I will meet some good people and buddy up with them to drink sangria late into the nights. I wouldn’t mind drinking sangria with a nice boy either.  So I’ll work on making that happen. It will just be nice to get away from home for a full week and explore somewhere new.

Speaking of, I went to Seaford/Sussex coast a couple weeks ago. I’d never been and it was only over an hour via train to get there. Just that little trip livened me up. It was the first time I’d been by the sea in a while. The chalk cliffs were stunning and stinging. The wind was blowing so hard that day bits of chalk were breaking off and pegging me in the legs as I

Yum, Harvey’s

walked on the top of the cliffs. Although the weather was rough when I arrived, it turned out to be a beautiful day in Sussex. And to cap it off, I managed to sneak in a couple beers in Lewes.

Yes, so all good in SW16. I see it’s quarter past nine, which is bed time for me. I hope you’re all doing well. Will try to write before I head off to Spain. Adios my friends.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “End of the summer

  1. Ralph Beckford

    You wonderful tree hugging, globe trotting, beer drinking creature you! – not sure how to make contact apart from this – great to meet you today at the Horns brewery – my email is – designer@ralphbeckforddesign.co.uk – well up for a pint in the Earl Ferrers if you fancy it. RB

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

