Sunday mornings

Clothes out enjoying the sun. Much better than having them on my radiators.

Another lovely Sunday morning here in SW London. My laundry is done and out on the line drying away in the semi-warm February Sun. Neighbor cats are running around our backyard. I’ve already had 3 cups of tea, de-molded our bathroom (it was super serious) and my traditional Sunday breakfast of cheesy garlic potatoes is on the stove. Ahh life is pretty alright. Even when I’ve got lots on my plate and about to have even more with my job ending next month.

I haven’t done any real blogging lately as my life has been mostly working, cycling and basically trying to catch a breath on the weekends by hiding indoors. This is does not lead to exciting blog posts.

But I have just remembered that I have not blogged about that trip to Bend OR in the beginning of the month. The trip was to show up for Tera and Ben’s going away party in Bend as they were moving to the UK. I needed one more big party in Bend with the kids, so I booked a flight a few weeks before and showed up a couple nights before the party. Both were equally surprised to see me. And the trip gave me an opportunity to catch up with some of my favorite friends in the world. Some valley people (Jill, Lisa, Emmy) were able to come over for the weekend as well, which was awesome. It was literally a whirlwind. It was 5 full days of eating and drinking myself into a stupor and I loved every minute of it. I never fully got on Oregon time and struggled for several days after my return to get back to London. I didn’t have a chance to catch up with everyone I hoped to, but the good news is that I should be back in Oregon in August for a tree conference. I will spend a week or two there and I can see everyone again and all those I missed.

Walking on fire. With my palsy hand.

I know some of you are waiting on a report of my fire walk at London Zoo on Friday. So I totes did it. No big deal of course. My co-worker and I did it together. It was nice to have someone else there going through it. We had an hour training session before the walk which was mostly about overcoming fear. I wasn’t nervous to do it when I signed up and I wasn’t nervous going into it. I did get a pinch of nervousness when I walked up to the coals and was about to walk across them. But before hand we decided to think of it as walking across hot sand at the beach trying to get to the beach bar. Putting it in that perspective made it even easier.  All total, it was 4 steps. I wouldn’t have wanted to walk much further, but I imagine 6 steps would have been my limit at this point. It was cool and great that I raised so much money. I think so far I’ve raised £227, which is more than my goal, so that’s pretty awesome. Thanks to everyone who has donated and there’s still time to donate to the tigers if you want to. Just click here to donate online.

Me, Kelly and a tiger.

I’ll try to update again soon when my brain can slow down a bit from my work schedule. It’d be ok if I didn’t have work, then two extra projects going and a stack of tree books I want to read. It’s like I never left school. I’m not complaining. I would prefer to have it this way than being back to raking pine needles, wondering what the hell I’m doing with my life.  And plus I live in one of the best cities in the world. And I get to bike a ton. My 100 miles/week cycling schedule has made me lose all the fat on my thighs and butt, which I didn’t notice sneaking up on me the last 5-10 years. Seriously, can’t remember the last time I’ve been this size. Maybe high school? Maybe never? It feels really good and I’m aiming to keep it off for as long as I can.

I’m rambling. I’ve got to get to working on my side project. Hope you’re all doing well.  Peace

 

Categories: I'm 29, travel | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sunday mornings

  1. Eric

    You should maybe call out a Tree Officer to take a look at the tree in your backyard?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

