2012 New Year’s Resolutions

After a pretty high success rate on my 2011 goals, I hope to do as much in 2012. I should have a lot more free time for my brain without essays and dissertations to concern myself with this year.  Here’s what I’m setting out to do:

1.  Read 30 books…. written prior to 1962.  For the last few years, I’ve had a reading goal on my resolution list and I don’t think I can stop now. I’m hoping this goal will make me read many more of the classics, which I’ve been wanting to read for many years but never seem to make the time to do so. It may involve re-reading a few books from high school, which I initially didn’t like as a teenager, but may like more now.

2.  Run half marathon.  I haven’t been running much, but I’d like to be. I’m thinking next fall I’ll run a half marathon. I’d do a full marathon, but with my weekly cycle commute, I’m not sure I have the energy reserve to run and train that much.

3. Learn French. Bahahaha. I don’t know why, but I’d like to learn a bit of French. I don’t know any of the romance languages and no better place to start than learning the language of our neighbors to the south. I’d like to learn enough to be able to get around France and ask directions and read a bit of a menu.  Just some basic stuff.  And then see where it goes.

 4. Go on a 250+ mile bike riding tour.  I have a plan to accomplish this if my finances allow for it to happen. And I may have one recruit to join me already and may be looking for others. It’s going to happen in late Spring and on the continent.  And I may be doing a warm up cycle ride in April. More details to come on this as they develop.

 5. Plant 100 trees. Well, you’d think this would be easy for someone who works with trees, but not so much. I don’t get a chance to plant  trees at all.  But I would like to try and do this through various means in the coming year.  It starts in a couple weeks!

6. Go to 20 new parks in London. There are so many great parks in this city, big and small, and I am in no way doing my best to see them all. What tends to happen is that I end up going to the same ones over and over. But it’s time to branch out. I will document on my blog every time I go to a new one.

Yeah, I think I’ll stop at 6 this year. I believe there’s enough on that list to keep me busy when not at work. I’m looking forward to all of them. If you have any good new years resolutions, I want to hear about them. It’s nice having company when attempting to accomplish non-essential (that’s kind of debatable isn’t it?) goals.

Lord Nelson

Categories: I'm 29 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

