366 days later

August 19th 2010, driving to Montana!

I just occurred to me recently that the day my dissertation was due (18th Aug) was 365 days after I left Bend.  One year on.  It’s the end of an absolutely insane journey.  And now, I can finally sigh and rest my brain.  Tonight at the pub I told my friend Jess if you would have told me a year ago today that I would be employed, living in London and drinking pints at a pub today I would be relieved that everything would work out.  Destiny, which pulled me to this damn city, wouldn’t have it any other way.  That’s obvious.

In one year I’ve managed to travel cross the US, go to the US Open, move to Preston, go to school, travel all over England, show my Mom London (finally and of course she loved it), have my first hospital stay (and first stitches and IV!), go to Kenya, go to a Royal Wedding, show Eric England, go to my best friend from college’s wedding, see my family in a week visit, move to London, get a gardening job, write a dissertation, and hand in said dissertation.  Phew.  It’s going to take me a week or so to finally calm my brain down.
The last year has been a long time coming.  Although I’ve been taking mini steps to get to London since I moved away, I think the day I really started planning for where I am today was August 1st 2009.  Yes, I know the exact date.  It was the day I signed up for the urban forestry class at OSU.  Once that happened I was able to do all these other steps to get to the point where I’m blogging from SW16 in London.  Never underestimate the ability of pursuing what excites you at any time and seeing how it can tangentially grow into what your life long dreams are.

So what’s next?  No idea.  Still trying to catch my breath from the epic sprint to get my disso done on time.  Seriously, there was a lot of running in Lancashire on Wednesday.  Like too much.   This weekend, I think I’ll stay local.  I have to work a little bit tomorrow. Then I see some disc golfing, something I haven’t done since the first weekend I moved to London!  Sad. but true!  I’m not counting the ridiculously hungover meager throws of some discs in Bristol, where we were aiming at trees.  I’ll do that and probably just cycle the city, enjoying a relaxing life for a bit. Maybe even try and do some reading.  My god, this is the least I’ve read in YEARS.  So I need to get back to beating my sister Kris on book count for 2011.

Ok, like I said, I have to work a bit tomorrow, so I should get some rest.  Hope you are all well.  Looking forward to having time to write more often!

August 19th 2011 in London. Happy to be here obviously.

Categories: I'm 29 | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “366 days later

  1. Eric

    You kick ass! Very excited for you…Wish I was there to celebrate with you.

  2. Cousin John

    Awesome post Col – keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

