Droughty

Well, after the Met Office declared the South of England in drought conditions, it’s done little more than rain the last 3 days.  Good job guys.  Way to ruin the weekend with tons of rain.  It was sunny yesterday morning when I woke from my haze for a little bit but that dissipated rather quickly as the morning went on.

Guinea pig friends. They weren't scared that I opened their cage door at all.

It’s been a slow day today.  I’m all fussed over my dissertation.  I’ve been trying to get back into the swing of thinking about these things in depth by watching some videos, reading some articles and researching more groups to bother with my survey.  I guess that’s progress although not really written.  Guess I have to start somewhere.

I wanted to share with you a picture of my guinea pig friends who live outside my door.  They keep well busy and like to make weird noises.  They are nice to have to look at.

Despite the rain today I managed to make it to the grocery store and stock up on food for the week.  I did some serious financial damage at Sainsbury’s.  But it is alright as I only bought healthy stuff and some much needed (and pricey) light bulbs (FYI I’m done purchasing light bulbs for the rest of my time here in Norbury I can promise you that).  Going back to work tomorrow means I can get back to some sort of regimented eating schedule.  As my Mother told me today, “you like structure.”  Indeed I do, Mother.  Give me a construct to work within and I will excel.  On the menu this week for lunch is hippie salads.  And I am so glad that Newman’s Own sells their salad dressing over here or I’d be without a proper ranch dressing.  The salad cream over here just looks like a grosser version of mayonnaise.  And who

May as well harass Dilly since I can't go outside. Dumb rain.

wants mayonnaise on their salad?

So work tomorrow.  I can’t remember if I’ve talked about this, but I will be working primarily in Kensington and Chelsea at private gardens.  And I’m hoping that I will be able to bike straight to our first accounts rather than take the awkward train journey to the shop every morning.  I would much prefer to get some good bike riding in daily than be on the train.  Part of me kind of wants to take the trains so I can get a bit of dedicated reading time in daily.  We’ll see how it goes.  Maybe tomorrow I can sneak a few pictures of the places I will be working.  From what I’ve seen there are many minimalist gardens.  So it will be a new, different challenge than what I had in Bend.

Oh, also, this is a picture of my new favorite pub, The Earl Ferrers, I was at the other night.  Maybe next time I go in, I will limit myself to 3 pints instead of the 4 (maybe 5?) pints I had.  How did 5 pints happen???  It didn’t work out for me that’s for sure.  Ok, I must try and write a couple sentences of my dissertation.  The time has come.  Hope you all had a nice weekend.  TTFN

Yum, beer.

Categories: I'm 29 | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Droughty

  1. sIRK

    I just threw up at the term “salad cream”, then again when I looked it up. That is disgusting! Remember on the Real World London when that boy freaked out without ranch dressing?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

