7 years 24 days and 13 hours later

It’s official.  I have officially re-attained residence in London.  It only took like 3/4 of a

Olympic countdown clock. I made it in plenty of time. #winning

decade but no big deal.  It’s done.  Well, it will be done in about 10 hours when I finish giving my landlord the rest of my deposit.  I was going to get something to eat and head to bed as I’ve been traveling non stop for the last 2 days, but I thought I needed a good picture to commemorate this moment.  I ended up taking some haphazard journey at midnight all the way into central London.  I stopped at Trafalgar Square and was going to head home as I was no longer hungry nor interested in a picture.  But I spotted a 24 hour tesco and picked up some food.  While waiting in line the queue to check out, I saw a glimmer of the 2012 Olympics countdown clock.  My goal starting back in July of 2005 when London got the Olympics was to be living in London by the time they started.  I’d be 30, which at the time seemed like a long way off, but so did living in London.  I was still living in Dyer at the time and trying to figure out what the hell I was supposed to be doing with life, one year out of college.  Well, I still don’t know what I’m supposed to do, but I’ve done enough to figure out a way here and it’s pretty cool.  I’ve spent most of my 20s dreaming about this day and it’s here.  And I’m going to be doing what I’ve wanted to all along: being a kickass gardener in London.

So this is neat.  Living here and stuff.  It’s kind of surreal to say the least.  I’m blogging from my new room here in Norbury.  I’m living in the Southwest, a good amount out of the city center, but it’s still London.  It’s a 7 mile bike ride to Craven Cottage (FULHAM!), 7

I think this might be the biggest bedroom I've ever had. Go figure.

miles to Westminster and 3.5 miles to a London disc golf course.  That’s a big improvement on the 5000 miles from Bend Oregon.  And I have a great job prospect that would have me in Southwest London, so being here is pretty good.

So of course after all the stressing and fussing of the last few weeks (um and  years), everything worked out nicely.  I have a really nice landlord and 1 very nice roommate.  I haven’t met the others yet, but should over the next few days.  My room opens up onto the back garden, a garden I plan on spending a lot of time in and fussing over to make beautiful.  I’ll post some pictures of it tomorrow when it’s light out.

So let this be a lesson to all of you kids and especially the adults out there, dreams can come true!   They take a long time and a lot of hard work, but you can do anything you want to do.  For serious.

That’s all for now.  I should probably get some sleep and readjust to GMT.  I don’t have any bed linens yet, so I’ll be sleeping on my bed in my sleeping bag.  But I don’t mind much because my bed is in London.  🙂

Categories: I'm 29 | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “7 years 24 days and 13 hours later

  1. katie

    Those are some very silky sheets!

    • ldnphile

      Thanks. It’s just the bedspread that was on the bed when I got here. The “pillow” is actually my duvet cover. I have neither pillows nor any other necessary bedding at the moment. I should probably work on correcting that today.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

