Journaling

My thoughts lean to the left I guess.

I do like my blog.  It’s fun to share my thoughts and experiences with all 4 of you that read my blog on a regular basis.  If I didn’t enjoy it, I wouldn’t have been doing it for the last 15ish years. Woah, 15 years.  Yikes, I’m getting old.  But as fun as blogging is, my favorite writing form is journaling.  And tonight I just finished filling my fifth journal.  No, I will not refer to it as a diary.  A diary sounds as though I’m either 13 writing about a boy I’m crushing on or that I am scheduling an appointment with someone.  It’s a journal, ok?

I love the process of writing a journal entry.  It is healing.  It is relaxing.  It’s the only place most of the time where I can somehow articulate what’s going on in my head.  Although It’s not doing much good since the only person who is reading my journal is myself (I hope).  But it’s a good process for me.  I can feel it in my bones when I haven’t written in my journal in a while.  I get a bit fussy.  My spring gets wound a bit too tight.  Somehow a book of blank paper and a pen makes it all better for me.

So  5 journals in 11 years.  My first written journal entry dates Monday the 10th of April 2000.  I was a Senior in high school.   Height of the tennis season.  And in true Colleen fashion, I was writing in my journal when I had other, more pressing writing to be completed.  I had a paper entitled “Mark Twain and Society” due on that Thursday.   That sounds like a craic of a read.  Wish I could get a copy of that paper.  Most of the first entry is filled about tennis meets, homework and how I’m done with boys at LC.   I say that I will undoubtably find the love of my life at ASU. Yes, that seems to have worked out nicely, hasn’t it?

It’s always entertaining to go back and read journal entries.  There are definite periods and moods throughout.  Some are sad and depressing to read.  And I feel bad for my younger self.  It’s hard to remember feeling like I did.  But then there are some entries I wish I could time travel and go back to because they were so much fucking fun.

My hand written account of personal evolution continues.  I bought my 6th journal today.  I look forward to filling it in the next couple years.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

