#33 The Green Belt Movement

I’m making an exception to the rule I put into affect for this 50 books in 2010.  The stipulation to including books was that they had to be a minimum of 200 pages in length.  That not so much happened on The Green Belt Movement book.  It is a paultry 136 pages.  But since I have read a few books which were way more than the 200 baseline, I am letting this scoot in.

I have wanted to read this book for about 6 months, but am finally getting around to it just now.  I was looking for some inspiration for my dissertation topic from it.  I think there may have been some found, but I’m still up in the air about it.  That is really neither here nor there for this book review.  Something tells me most of you won’t like this book.  It is the story of the Green Belt Movement by Wangari Maathai in Kenya.  She has helped plant millions of trees in Kenya through the organization she created.  Really remarkable work to have accomplished.  It also gives some guidelines on how the movement is structured and works day to day. Wangari Maathai is also the winner of the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize for the work she has done.  She is no slouch.

Good stuff.  I’d check out the GBM website.  There’s a lot more information about the projects they have going on and you can also donate if you feel so inclined.
Also, it doesn’t look good for me finishing 50 books by January 1st.  I’m a bit gutted.  It’s not that I’m not reading, trust me.  It’s just all in the form of journal articles by the dozens.  Maybe I should start counting whole journal volumes towards my total. Or maybe I should just shoot myself.

The only glimmer of hope is that classes are finished on December 11th so I have about 3 weeks to read whatever I want.  We’ll see. I may have to make some concessions and count a few more sub 200 page books to make it work.  Nothing ridiculous like cat in the hat, but some books in the 150 page range.   It’ll be a real race to the finish.  Wish me luck, friends.

Categories: 50 Books | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

