#30 The Forever War

Lucky number 30.  Well, it’s a number.  I don’t actually think it’s lucky.  But it does mean I’m 60% of the way done with my goal to read 50 books in a year.  Not too bad.  Reading has slowed to a trickle as I attempt to pack up/sell/give away my belongings and deal with international relocation.  Any ways, lucky number 30: The Forever War.  It was an interesting read.  Not really something I would normally read but it won book of the year in 2008 as voted by the NY Times.  I figured the NY Times probably knows what it’s talking about.  It was a great eye witness account into the wars in Afganistan and Iraq as told by an American.  Wow.  You hear about the wars on the news and it’s talked about in broad sweeping strokes.  Then you read a book like Forever War and realize how personal it is.  I tried to imagine what it would be like to have a war in my country, in my city in my backyard while I read the book.  It’s tough to visualize.  And then to think that these people have been living it for the past 7 years (and beyond).  A whole lifetime of war.  How awful.  Any ways, I’d read it.  If any one wants my copy, it’s up for grabs!

EVERYTHING HAS GOT TO GO!

Now back to my normal state of moving stress……….

Categories: 50 Books | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#30 The Forever War

  1. sIRK

    I’ll take your copy of Outlander….. don’t give it away!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

