#25 The Map that Changed the World

Remember the new years goal of mine to read 50 books this year?  Bet you thought I forgot about it with all that traveling I’ve been doing the last few weeks.  Well, I didn’t, but it did take me 3 weeks to read one book.  I don’t blame the book.  I blame the lack of routine reading time.  And of course it had to happen on book 25, the half way point.  So The Map that Changed the World by Simon Winchester was interesting.  It was the story of William Smith and how he became the father of geology.  He made this map of the geologic make up of England back in the late 1700s/early 1800s and it was pretty groundbreaking.  Obvs.  I’ve apparently been on an unconscious kick to read books about England, but  I imagine the more knowledge I have about my soon to be home country, the better.  Now on to the 2nd half of my reading goal!!!!  Woot.

Categories: 50 Books | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

