Grow Room

Nice reflection

I would like to start out today with telling you all that I am sitting outside on my front porch typing this up.  The air is a little nippy but there’s hardly any wind.  The sun is shining and I’m happy spring is just a couple weeks off now.  It’s hovering around 50 degrees at the moment.  These first few warm days of the year certainly are magical.  Let’s hope this spring it’s warm and sunny and not as rainy like it has been the last 2 years.

Ok, so that title grow room title for this entry is a little misleading.  It should really be in quotations.  “Grow Room.”  There.  That’s better.  Actually more accurately “Grow Basement.”  And further: “Bella’s crate with 3 flats on it and a 4

"grow room"

foot fluorescent light hanging closely over head.”  I don’t want you all to get any ideas that I’m growing pot in the basement or anything like that (drugs are bad, kids), though I would probably be good at it with my green thumb and all.

Any ways, my “I-don’t-really-like-growing-out-in-the-cold-when-I’m-a-seedling” vegetables are happily growing (I hope) in my basement.  Thursday?  Yeah, Thursday the 4th I got all the seeds in their temporary home.  Most of the seeds were so teeny tiny! It’s crazy to think plants (well, I guess animals too) start off as such little bits of life.  Let me see if I can remember all that I planted:  broccoli, onions, peppers, tomatoes and lettuce.

Teensy broccoli seeds

Yum.  With a little luck I’ll see a couple of sprouts sometime this next week.   The seedlings will have to stay indoors anywhere from 4-10 weeks depending on the plant.  The cold nights and low humidity of Central Oregon make less than ideal growing conditions outdoors.  That’s why we have to start so much indoors.  Actually, maybe I’m wrong and you have to start plants indoors from seeds in most locations.

I’m super excited about my “grow room” and would be happy to show it to any one who wants to come check it out.  Tera almost fell over when she saw it.  Yeah, it’s that impressive.  She was probably more impressed about me doing something with my time besides facebooking.  I hope to get a pretty good grow rate out of the plants.  I’ll post some more pictures once things start growing.

I’m going to go inside now and get my book and do some outdoor leisure reading.  Sounds nice doesn’t it?  Have a wonderful weekend everyone.

Seeds in their new homes

Categories: Garden | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

