Richard Preston on the giant trees

This is a talk given by Richard Preston at the TED conference a year ago.  It is an amazing look at coast redwoods and the ecosystems that have evolved within their canopies.  The pictures and content are fantastic.  I would highly recommend Preston’s book about the giants trees called The Wild Trees.  It is a super interesting read and one that really got the ball rolling in my new found love and appreciation of trees.  I actually started reading it while at Gold Bluffs beach campground in Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park in Northern California and was able to stare at redwood trees while I read.  Tough life.  Any ways, I think the movie is a good starting point, but would for sure read The Wild Trees.  There is also a bit on the end regarding the loss of Eastern Hemlock trees, which was news to me.  I will have to look into this further.  If I find anything of interest I’ll be sure to post it.  Cheers.

Categories: Suggested | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

