In the Heat of the Morning

 

"They call me Mr. Tibbs."

"They call me Mr. Tibbs."

This morning I got up bright and early (as I pretty much have everyday for the last week) and finished watching the #75 movie of All Time.  It was the 1967 Oscar Winner for best Picture “In the Heat of the Night.”  It was super good, not really what I was expecting.  That’s really true of most of the movies on this top 100 list adventure.  It’s shockingly way better than I thought it would be and I get way more into the story than I thought (except for Nashville…dullsville USA).  The movie felt particularly poignant during this election week of Mr. Obama.  Still it’s amazing to think how far things have come in just 40 years.  The amount of discrimination and prejudice Sidney Poitier’s character encounters in small town Alabama is overwhelming for me, someone not born in a time (or place) where that’s prevalent.  It’s sad that anyone ever had to live through such situations.  The way Poitier’s character handles it though is remarkable and you know the strength he is showing comes from Poitier’s own life where he was breaking boundaries and setting new precedent for African Americans in film.  So all of you kids who are “not into old movies” you should get over yourselves and watch this one.  That’s all I ask.  Wonderful acting, wonderful screenplay, great music (some guy named Quincy Jones did the music) and well directed.  Cheers.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “In the Heat of the Morning

  1. Eric Arndt

    I want to watch this! Wanna watch it with me??

  2. Pingback: Popular People » Blog Archive » In the Heat of the Morning « Colleen’S Rants and Rambles

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

