Obama Day

My goodness what a day today was for America.  Actually what a day for the world.  The day has finally come where we can call Barack Obama our President.  I’m quite happy, inspired and feeling extra patriotic (and that says a lot coming from someone who has Freedom growler hours regularly).  It was a good day.  I got up at 6 AM because Eric and I were planning on watching as soon as the coverage got interesting.  It was really interesting stuff.  I don’t think I’ve watched too many inaugural ceremonies in my day, so it was all new to me.  The best surprise for me was Dick Cheney in a wheelchair.  WTF?  The pundits said he pulled a muscle in his back.  What kind of strenuous activity could Dick be participating in that would lead him wheelchair bound? 

We were scheduled to watch the inauguration on CNN, but ended up splitting our time between ABC and C-SPAN.  C-SPAN is way better than you think it would be.  It was lots of unedited footage.  They had like 5 minutes straight of a camera man walking through the crowd on the mall, pointing the camera where ever he pleased.  ABC did a really nice job with coverage (as per use), plus they were the only channel not putting up huge tickers and graphics at the bottom of the screen.  That stuff was getting annoying because you could only see like a 1/3 of the shot.  I know this isn’t anything new, but those graphics seemed extra bulky today.  

So that was way good.  The actual ceremony was very nice.  The parade (from what I saw of it) was neat.  My favorite group that marched by were The Lawn Rangers of Arcola (I guess there was some controversy with them going).  They marched with some sweet decked out lawn mowers.  I picked up some ideas from their performance for things I could do with my work lawn mowers.  

Any who, I am off to sit on the couch.  I am going to start Soylent Green, but I doubt I’ll finish it.   I’ve never seen it before, but I’ll give it a try tonight.  It’s been on TiVo since September.  Ok kids, cheers!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

