Seven Dials

I’m not going to pretend to know everything on the neighborhoods and villages of Central London, especially seeing as I have spent 4 1/2 months of my life there so far.  So if you’re at all shocked that I didn’t know about Seven Dials, don’t be.

Good real estate move, Mr. Neale

Good real estate move, Mr. Neale

Any who, I’d read this nice article posted by BBC regarding the history of the Seven Dials area (stuck between Covent Garden and Soho) of the West End if I were you.  This area is known as Seven Dials because in the meeting point for the seven streets there was a sun dial pillar.  Thomas Neale, the one who was so graced with this bit of land back in the 17th century, wished to maximize his profitability on his property so he made the seven streets (originally 6) in order to increase his street frontage.  I’m looking forward to going here (can I live here?) once I get back and doing a bit of photography.

Seven Dials article on the BBC

Categories: history | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

