Sickened with myself

The last few weeks I’ve been thinking about going to Africa next offseason and volunteering. No plans have been made regarding what I will do exactly. All I know is that I want to go and do something to make a difference. It’s slowly been weighing heavier on my heart. This is what I want to do.

Tonight I watched Oprah “Moms around the World” and they showed this mother in DR Congo who was raising her own children as well as her brothers. 10 children in all. From 17 to 2. And to make a living, she’s a porter. She carries things for people up and down the hill she lives on. A couple miles up and down on extremely rough roads carrying packages which may be small or may weigh 100 lbs plus. Most days she’ll make probably 25 cents. Astounding to think about here in America. It seems impossible to even walk out of your own home without spending $.25. And this woman is raising 10 children. The story was filmed a few years ago and they did an update on the woman. She has since put 4 of her 10 children through primary school. How!? She’s obviously a tremendously strong woman in mind, spirit and body. And to do anything but what she does is probably unfathomable to her. It’s the only way she knows how to provide. The only way she can survive.

I wonder if I have the same strength as she. The ability to cope with such dire circumstances. To somehow persevere through each day and knowing that the next day will be the same challenge. I don’t know the answer to that.

So more than ever, I want to go to Africa and help. I’m sick of America. No, sickened. Sickened with the lifestyle that we’re supposed to live. I don’t want to own a billion things. I don’t want to drink a coffee from Starbucks everyday and drive my suv. I want to help and live a simple life. I want to ride my bike to work and drink the tea I made at my house. Yes, I’m ranting.

Any one want to join me in Africa? I need all the help I can get.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sickened with myself

  1. Anonymous

    Sure, I’ll go with you. Or how about I send some of my offspring over there with you instead. I also am disturbed about these stories and wonder what I can do. I’ll support your cause until I’m able to get there myself.
    –sIRK

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

